WhatsApp is the world's most used instant messaging app and has already killed the normal text messaging for us. The messaging app which is used by more than a billion daily active users has introduced many features in the recent past to increase the engagement but it doesn't matter how perfect WhatsApp gets, there will always be many features that the users will ask for. One of the most awaited features which can potentially save millions of relationship is finally here.
Well, the feature is finally live on WhatsApp (might take time to reach every user) now and here's everything you need to know.
WhatsApp has already introduced WhatsApp for Business for a set of limited users, which allows the customers to access the business services over WhatsApp only. For instance, let's take BookMyShow, the movie and show booking startup from India (Asia) is already using WhatsApp to confirm the ticket booking on their platform.
But this is not the feature we are talking about. Read ahead...
Revoke Sent Message option is finally live on WhatsApp platform allowing the user to delete the sent message. So if you by mistake send a wrong message to your girlfriend that you shouldn't have sent, you can always call it backward and your girlfriend will never know what happened. As in this case, if Sherly's boyfriend made a goof-up which he can revoke instantly to save his relation.
Wait, there's more to it.
Many iOS users are reportedly using this feature on the latest WhatsApp version. The feature comes with two options- 'Delete for Everyone' and 'Delete for Me'.
Upon trying to delete a message, the user will be offered two options- 'Delete for Everyone' and 'Delete for Me'. Delete for Everyone will delete the message for everyone to whom it was meant to be sent.
Upon selecting 'Delete for Me', the message will be deleted from the user's side but still be available to the ones it was delivered (Just like it works currently).
If you haven't received the feature yet, then you might want to wait because the update has started rolling out and many devices have already received it.
Just make sure you are running on the latest WhatsApp version, to check the version of your app just open WhatsApp> Settings> About> Version. If you are running on the previous version, then you can update the app from Play Store.
For the Android users, the feature is still in beta so unless you are a beta user, you will not be able to use the Recall feature. To become a beta user, just open Google Play Store and go to the WhatsApp download page. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and you will see an option to enrol yourself for beta program.
Though the feature is out now but it was leaked long back when the famous WhatsApp tester, WABetaInfo provided the information of this upcoming feature on their official Twitter handle.
WABetaInfo earlier informed that the Recall feature will be first realised for iOS devices before debuting on Android devices.
As the message sent is already delivered and so is notification so when the user deletes the message after the delivery, the notification log will show a message was deleted. Though the deleted message will not be shown after it is deleted but the user's name will reflect in the notification log.
WhatsApp will also launch their UPI-based payment services later this year. The preview is already spotted on the version 2.17.295. Though no one including the beta users will be able to access this feature as this is currently hidden and disabled from the WhatsApp end.